Marketpath CMS Tutorial Series

Publishing, Unpublishing, & Trash

Last Updated 7/5/2019

Lesson Overview

This lesson covers the publishing, unpublishing, and trashing items in Marketpath CMS. It also covers scheduled publishing and unpublishing.

Publishing

Publishing Single Items

Publishing an item in Marketpath CMS means you will be copying the item, its content, and all custom field data, to the Live environment. This essentially makes the content available to visitors of your website.

To publish an item, open the item’s properties dialog. Here, you’ll see the publish button on the top toolbar. Simply click the publish button to publish the item and all it’s content as it is currently saved. 

Once you click the publish button, you will see the notifications icon show that an operation is in progress and how many are currently running. You can click the notifications icon to see what operations are currently running. As soon as these operations are completed, the icon will turn green.

Publishing Multiple Items

To publish multiple items at the same time, open a list view and apply any necessary filters. Select the items you want to publish, then click the publish button. All items will be added to the publish queue and sent to the Live site.

Unpublished Parents

Occasionally, you may receive a notification that an item’s parent has not yet been published. For example, when trying to publish a blog post for a new blog. If the parent blog has not yet been published and you try to publish the new blog post, you will receive a notification that blog itself has not yet been published. You will have the option to publish the parent item at this time or cancel the operation. In most cases, a child item cannot be published until it’s parent has.

Unpublishing

Unpublishing Single Items

The quickest and easiest way to remove content from your website is to unpublish it. Unpublishing content removes it completely from the Live environment.

To unpublish a single item, open the item’s properties dialog, click the arrow next to the publish button and then click Unpublish.

Unpublishing Items with Children

One thing to keep in mind is when you unpublish an item that has children. For example, if you unpublish a blog, then all of its blog posts will also be unpublished. Similarly, if you unpublish a folder, every child object in the folder, including that child’s own children, will also be unpublished. You will not receive a warning for this operation so keep in mind the impact it may have on your site.

Authors, tags, and other linked items referenced in custom fields will not be unpublished. For example, unpublishing an article will not unpublish the article’s author and tags. Those are separately managed objects that are likely linked to many other objects. One exception to this is if you are unpublishing a folder that contains the authors or tags.

Unpublishing Multiple Items

Similar to publishing, you can also select multiple items in a filtered or unfiltered list view and unpublish all of them at the same time. 

Scheduled Publishing & Unpublishing

Scheduled Publishing & Unpublishing for a Single Item

All publishable items can be scheduled for publishing at some future date and time. To do this, select the item you want to publish at a later time, click the arrow next to the publish button and select Save & Schedule

In the Schedule dialog that appears, you select the checkbox next to publish, unpublish, or both and then set the future date and time accordingly. Be sure to also select the appropriate time zone.

Scheduled Publishing and Unpublishing for Multiple Items

You can also select multiple items to set a future publish or unpublish date. In a filtered or unfiltered list view, select one or more objects to schedule. The dialog is a bit different for multiple items.

A new checkbox appears with the label Schedule One Publish/Unpublish for All. If this is selected all selected items will use the publish and unpublish dates set here. If you uncheck that box, you will be able to set a unique schedule for each selected item.

Content Version at the Time of a Scheduled Publish

When you schedule items to be published, the items’ content at the time of the scheduled publish is what will be published to the Live site. As an example, let’s say it’s Monday and you schedule an item to be published on Friday. You make a change to the item on Thursday. When it is published, it will use its most current version - that is, the one you updated on Thursday. It will NOT use the version from Monday.

This is important to understand if you make frequent changes to content that is published on a schedule.

Trashing Items

Trashing Objects

To trash one or more items, click the Trash button when you’re in the item’s properties view or after you’ve selected multiple items in a list view. You will be prompted to confirm the trash operation. When you trash items, they will automatically be unpublished.

Restoring an Item from the Trash

If you’ve trashed something by mistake, go into Site -> Trash, select the items you want to restore, and click Untrash. This restores the object, but it will not republish the object. You’ll need to do that separately.

Purging Items from the Trash

You can keep your Trash cleaned up by occasionally purging items. Purging will delete the items forever. There is no restoring these items once they’ve been purged.

Trashing Objects with Children

If an item you are about to trash has children, such as a folder, all of those child objects will also be trashed. Another example is if you trash a blog, then all of the posts within that blog will also be trashed. In most cases, if you then untrash the item then its children will also be un-trashed.

---- End of Lesson ----

Question? Correction?

Let's work together to make our documentation as helpful as possible.

What is your name? 
What is your email address? 
Feedback: