0%

History & Versions ID: EBT-OC-HV

Marketpath CMS keeps track of changes to content and saves a version of content each time it is published.

History

Every time an object is changed in Marketpath CMS a log is kept of that change. The log contains the date and time of the change, the type of change made, and who performed the change. 

To view the history of an object, you must be in the object Properties dialog. Once open, click History (Fig. 1).

icon-history
Figure 1 - History action

This will show the full history of the object from its initial creation (Fig. 2).

dialog-history
Figure 2 - History of an object named “About”

Restoring Versions (Rollback)

If you want to restore an old version of an object then you can use the Versions dialog. To access this, click the down arrow that is part of the History button and then click Versions (Fig. 3).

icon-history-versions
Figure 3 - Versions action

The Versions dialog will open and show you all of the currently retained published versions of the object (Fig. 4).

dialog-versions
Figure 4 - Versions of an object named “About”

To restore the object to one of the listed versions click the Restore icon icon-restore of the version you wish to restore. You will have to click the Yes, Restore button to continue (Fig. 5).

dialog-restore-confirmation
Figure 5 - Restore confirmation dialog

The Success dialog will appear when the restore has completed (Fig. 6).

dialog-restore-success
Figure 6 - Restore Success dialog

Comparing Versions

In the Versions dialog you can also compare versions to each other. To do so, select the check box of two versions you’d like to compare. The Compare Versions dialog will appear with showing both versions of the content (Fig. 7).

dialog-compare-versions
Figure 7 - Compare Versions dialog

If you only select the checkbox of one version and click Compare it will compare that version to the current version whether it has or has not been published. The compare icon icon-compare shown at the end of each row performs this same action.

Permanent Save

Each site has a limited number of versions that will be stored and is based on the site’s selected plan. The Starter plan, for example, will store up to 5 published versions. This is important to know because if you plan to make big changes to an object then you can permanently save one or more versions.

To save published versions from within the Versions dialog click the tag icon  for the version you want saved. This will prompt you to change the existing version notes of the object, if desired (Fig. 8).


Figure 8 - Save version prompt

Once completed the tag icon will become shaded and the notes will reflect any changes you made (Fig. 9).

version-list-one-saved
Figure 9 - Version list with one saved version

As you continue to publish changes to the object, any saved versions will move towards the bottom of the list but will not drop out of the list. Saved versions do count towards your version limit.

To unsave a version, simply click the shaded tag icon icon-version-tag-saved and it will revert to an an unsaved state.

Save a Version without Publishing

You can also save a version without publishing an object from with the object’s Properties dialog. To do this click the dropdown arrow on the Save button and then click Save Version (Fig. 10).

button-save-version
Figure 10 - Save Version button

You will be prompted to leave a note or not leave a note (Fig. 11). We recommend leaving one for future reference.

dialog-save-version-prompt
Figure 11 - Save Version prompt
 



Feedback?

Please fill out the form below with your feedback or any questions you may have after working through the "History & Versions" lesson.

Your Name
Email 
Feedback / Questions